Meet Don Telford: Smart Award recipient: Individual Award for Excellence

Meet Don Telford: Smart Award Recipient: Individual Award for Excellence

Australasian Supply Chain Institute (ASCI) has a strong history of recognising significant contributions made to industry through its Smart Awards held every second year as part of the Smart Conference and this year's recipient holds true to this tradition. Don Telford is the recipient for this year's award. We're giving you, our ASCI Members, the opportunity to meet Don, learn from his past experiences and seek advice on current challenges faced in the supply chain world today.

About Don Telford

Don Telford retired from the role as Chief Operating Officer of the Asciano Group and Chairman of the Australian Rail Association in December 2009. Prior to his appointment, Don held the position of Chief Executive Officer of Pacific National.  Previously he was Director of the Logistics Group at Toll Holdings, a position he had held since December 1997 after the acquisition of TNT Logistics.  

Prior to this, Don held the position of Executive General Manager of Logistics at TNT Australia. ln this role he was responsible for establishing and developing TNT’s logistics presence and capability in the Australian market including the company's development and entry into regional Port ownership and operation.

Don's expertise in the transport and logistics field is highly regarded throughout the industry. As such he has undertaken advisory management positions, to both Monash University and RMIT, and is a past member of The University of Sydney’s Institute of Transport Studies’ Logistics Management Advisory Committee.  Don is the current chairman of the McAlesse Group and is also a former Chairman of the Australian Logistics Council and former Director of the Maritime Superannuation Board and Foodbank NSW.

Download the exclusive interview with Don Telford Live from the Smart Conference to learn more about his experience, work history and contribution to the transport industry over the past four decades. 

2015’s Individual Award for Excellence winner was Nola Bransgrove OAM, owner of transport company, BransTrans. According to judges, Bansgrove has played an instrumental role in the development of the industry accreditation program TruckSafe, was a founding member of Transport Women Australia, and has made an enormous contribution to the transport industry. She is currently the commissioner of the National Transport Commission, Chairwoman of Transport Driver Training Victoria, Chairwoman of Women in Supply Chain and past Member of the Victorian Freight and Logistics Council.

Past winners include Air Vice-Marshal Margaret Staib AM, CSC, CPL, FCILT, Commander Joint Logistics, Australian Defence Force; Lindsay Fox AC; Roger Corbett AM; Chris Corrigan, CEO, Patrick Corporation; Dr John Gattorna, Professor in Supply Chain Management and Vice Chief of the Defence Force, Lieutenant General Des Mueller, AO.

Contact the ASCI National Office to seek out opportunities to meet Don Telford either at your workplace, networking event, keynote presentation or as part of a conference program in 2017.